Skip to main content
European Commission logo
Eurocodes: Building the future
News article18 November 2022

Eurocodes in Malaysia

Eurocodes ongoing adoption in Malaysia is supporting ASEAN's strong growth and climate resilience in the construction sector

Video file

Eurocodes in Malaysia: Supporting ASEAN's strong growth and climate resilience in the construction sector

Southeast Asia is most vulnerable to climate change due to its unique geography, rapid growth, and urbanisation. As the impact of these trends arises, there is a growing need for improved and more resilient infrastructures and demand for the construction sector to contribute towards climate goals.

In the spirit of strategic partnership, the European Union (EU) introduces and shares knowledge and experience on the Eurocodes with ASEAN Member States (AMS) to strengthen their design standards and ensure safe and resilient structures.

The EUROCODES are the most advanced set of design standards for buildings and other construction works globally. They are currently a series of 10 European standards that provide a common approach for the structural design of buildings and other civil engineering works and construction products (bridges, silos, retaining walls, underground constructions).

Constantly evolving, the Eurocodes respond to new developments and innovation in the construction sector while ensuring safe, resilient and sustainable construction works. The second generation of the Eurocodes is expected to be published after 2026. It will, among other topics, provide a new Eurocodes on structures made from glass, introduce requirements for the assessment and retrofitting of existing structures and address the adaptation of structural design to climate change.

Through the Enhanced Regional EU-ASEAN Dialogue Instrument (E-READI), awareness-raising and sharing of technical expertise and best practices are facilitated, supporting ASEAN’s strong growth and climate resilience in the built environment safeguarding their communities against natural and man-made hazards.

As of September 2022, four AMS have already been engaged: Cambodia, Brunei Darussalam, Singapore and Malaysia. Countries are at various stages of awareness regarding Eurocodes and their concepts. Singapore adopted Eurocodes as national standards in 2015 and has shared best practices with other interested ASEAN countries. E-READI strategically plans its engagement and offers a platform to exchange relevant technical information between the EU and AMS.

Malaysia: the first ASEAN country to access to EU’s Eurocodes Database

Malaysia has already adopted several Eurocode, including “Eurocode: Basis of Structural Design” (EN1990) and selected parts of  “Eurocode 1:Actions on structures” (EN1991), “Eurocode 2: Design of concrete structures” (EN1992), “Eurocode 3: Design of steel structures” (EN1993), “Eurocode 7: Geotechnical Design" (EN1997) and  “Eurocode 8: Design of structures for earthquake resistance” (EN 1998).

Eurocodes are flexible and adaptable so learning from other countries implementing these standards is crucial. To continue supporting Malaysia, the European Commission granted Malaysia access to its Nationally Determined Parameters (NDP) Database through the European Commission’s Joint Research Centre (JRC).  NDPs are open parameters in Eurocodes that allow for national choices. Countries can consider their own geographical, geological or climatic conditions, including different safety level requirements and construction traditions.

This milestone in the Eurocodes implementation for Malaysia will provide access to a wealth of data and experience from many other countries. Access to the NDPs Database will assist in the national implementation of chosen Eurocode parts, including the preparation of the Malaysian National Annex to Eurocode 8 - Part 2, a standard related to the design of bridges for earthquake resistance.

Currently, the JRC NDP Database is only accessed by all EU/EFTA Member States and some selected countries, including five EU Candidate Countries (Albania, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia and Turkey), two Potential Candidate Countries (Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo), one country included in the JRC Enlargement and Integration activities with the Balkan non-EU countries (Republic of Moldova), and one Horizon 2020 associated country (Georgia).

Malaysia will be the first-ever ASEAN country to have access to this critical Eurocodes database, made possible under the E-READI Eurocodes cooperation.

Building a safe, sustainable and climate-resilient ASEAN

The recent support for Malaysia through the JRC NDPs database and heightened interest in the Eurocode standards within AMS demonstrates the strong collaboration between the EU and ASEAN. It highlights the importance of regional cooperation to meet regional demands and respond to global challenges.

As more AMS express their interest in adopting the Eurocodes, it highlights the region’s commitment to growth and safeguarding communities by constructing climate-resilient cities and the built environment. In response and being a strong ally to ASEAN, the EU will facilitate a regional workshop exploring Eurocodes and Climate Change throughE-READI in 2023. This will better support AMS countries on their journey towards ensuring safety, sustainability, and well-being in the region.


Publication date
18 November 2022 (Last updated on: 18 November 2022)
Not associated with a specific Eurocode
Not associated with a specific Eurocode