Navigation path


This page is archived. Archived pages are not updated anymore, they are available only for consultation


Standards and Assessment Documents

European System for Standardisation and Certification

Standardisation is a process based on consensus amongst different economic actors, e.g. industry and public authorities. It is carried out by independent standards bodies. The European Standards Organisations (ESO) are:

  • CEN: European Committee for Standardisation;
  • CENELEC: European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardisation;
  • ETSI: European Telecommunications Standards Institute.

The European Standards Organisations produce the European Standards (EN), Technical Specifications, Technical Reports, Guides and Workshop Agreements.

Harmonised European Standards

Harmonised European Standards provide a solid technical basis for manufacturers for making the declaration of performance of products and affixing the CE marking.

The harmonised European standards on construction products together with the relevant standards create a common technical language to:

  • express requirements;
  • declare the product performance;
  • verify compliance with such requirements.

Technical Assessment Bodies and European Technical Assessment

Technical Assessment Bodies (TABs) are entrusted with the establishment of European Assessment Documents and the issuing of European Technical Assessments in a product area for which they have been designated by Member States. The TABs shall establish an organisation for technical assessment.

A European Technical Assessment (ETA) is issued for a construction product not covered or not fully covered by a harmonised standard and for which the performance in relation to its essential characteristics cannot be entirely assessed according to an existing harmonised standard.

A European Technical Assessment is issued on the basis of a European Assessment Document and includes:

  • the performance to be declared, by levels or classes, or in a description, of those essential characteristics agreed by the manufacturer and the TAB receiving the request for the European Technical Assessment for the declared intended use;
  • technical details necessary for the implementation of the system of assessment and verification of constancy of performance.

Notified Bodies

Notified Bodies are authorised to carry out third-party tasks in the process of assessment and verification of constancy of performance under the Construction Products Regulation. They are designated by Member States.

A list of all officially designated Notified Bodies under the Construction Products Regulation is available in the database NANDO.

European Organisation for Technical Approvals

The European Organisation for Technical Approvals (EOTA) comprises Approval Bodies nominated to issue European Technical Approvals (ETAs) by EU Member States and European Free Trade Association (EFTA) States who have contracted to the European Economic Area (EEA) Agreement. With the entry in force of the Construction Products Regulation, most EOTA members are seeking designation as Technical Assessment Bodies.

Organisation of Technical Assessment Bodies

The Construction Products Regulation stipulates that TABs should establish an organisation supported, where applicable, through Union financing, to coordinate procedures for the establishment of draft European Assessment Documents and for the issuing of the European Technical Assessments, ensuring the transparency and the necessary confidentiality of those procedures.

Product Contact Points for Construction

Member States designate Product Contact Points for Construction that provide, free of charge, information on the provisions aimed at fulfilling the basic requirements for construction works applicable to the intended use of each construction product in their territory.

Product Contact Points for Construction should also provide information on rules applicable to the incorporation, assembling or installation of a specific type of construction product.